Customer reviews for LD Products Remanufactured Hewlett Packard (HP) C4906AN (HP 940XL Black) Ink Cartridge

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at LDProducts.

LD Products Remanufactured Hewlett Packard (HP) C4906AN (HP 940XL Black) Ink Cartridge

Our Non-OEM Remanufactured Hewlett Packard C4906AN / HP 940XL black replaces OEM HP C4906AN inkjet cartridge without sacrificing quality and performance. The pigment-based ink in this HP 940XL cartridge is ideal for both simple home-based printing and professional office use. This High Yield C4906AN cartridge replaces the low yield C4902AN HP cartridge. With our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee, our Remanufactured (HP) C4906AN is an excellent alternative to OEM (HP) HP 940XL, delivering beautifully clear, crisp printouts you can depend on.This remanufactured cartridge does not have a new smart chip, so you must turn off your ink level system in order to print. Press the OK button on your printer once for each cartridge. Although your printer will not track ink, our cartridges will print beautifully from start to finish.
Overall rating:
4.283 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 46 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
41 out of 46(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Remanufactured Hewlett Packard (HP) C4906AN (HP 940XL Black) Ink Cartridge
Review 1 for Remanufactured Hewlett Packard (HP) C4906AN (HP 940XL Black) Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product was only 1/3 full

PostedJune 28, 2012
Customer avatar
By: carolsec
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was extremely disappointed that the black ink was only a quarter full.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from LDProductsBy GeorginaSalesJuly 2, 2012
Thank you for ordering with LD Products. These ink cartridges are remanufactured, which means that they have been recycled. Legally we are not allowed to reset the ink monitoring chip on these cartridges, so unfortunately they will likely still read low or empty (whatever the ink level was when they were sent for recycling). They are indeed full, and should yield the full amount of pages. If you feel like the cartridge is actually not full, please call us right away at 888-321-2552. You are covered by a 1 year warranty and we would be happy to send out a replacement if needed. Thank you for your time, and we look forward to hearing from you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Remanufactured Hewlett Packard (HP) C4906AN (HP 940XL Black) Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HP 8500 rejects LD 940XL

PostedFebruary 23, 2011
Customer avatar
By: HPuser
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Our new HP 8500 rejected all LD 940XL's. Won't work until some chip modification can allow useage. Avoid unitl resolved.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Remanufactured Hewlett Packard (HP) C4906AN (HP 940XL Black) Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

It inexpensive, but costly because the printer

PostedFebruary 13, 2012
Customer avatar
By: Anonymous
fromBaltimore
Used this product for:3 to 6 months
Product replacement:Yes
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It inexpensive, but costly because the printer indicates that it is low on ink, from the start, and quickly shuts down and won't print anything if any of the cartridges are shown as empty. the printer reconizes that the cartridge has been used before and even though I havent printed 20 pages with anything but black ink the colors cartriges quickly show as being empty. It would be good if you could reset the chip, otherwise the cost savings is lost because you probably only get less than a forth of the printing that you get with normal HP cartridges.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from LDProductsBy GeorginaSalesMarch 27, 2012
Thank you for ordering with us! The remanufactured Hewlett Packard 940XL cartridges will almost always give you an inaccurate page yield when installed but should definitely print the full life of the cartridge. If you need further assistance with the product please contact customer service at 888-321-2552 and we will do our best to assist you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Remanufactured Hewlett Packard (HP) C4906AN (HP 940XL Black) Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not sure

PostedJune 17, 2011
Customer avatar
By: LadyPrintsALot
Used this product for:1 to 3 months
Product replacement:Yes
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
My HP printer wouldn't copy any more until I changed the black XL cartridge, saying that it was empty. However, it sounds as if there is still ink in the cartridge. We have 3 more of the cartridges, so I hope this is not a consistent problem. I don't want to buy ink that is just discarded.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from LDProductsBy Diana A.Customer ServiceJuly 1, 2011
Dear Michael,
I do apologize for the trouble you are having with our Remanufactured HP #88Xl black ink cartridge reading as empty even though it is not. It sounds like the chip on the cartridge has failed. We have a 1 year warranty on all of our products! Please give our Customer Service Department a call at 1-888-321-2552 M-F 6am-6pm PST or S 7am-4pm PST and one of our representatives will be able to assist you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Remanufactured Hewlett Packard (HP) C4906AN (HP 940XL Black) Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Printer recognition

PostedMay 2, 2011
Customer avatar
By: Geothermal
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The HP Officejet Pro does not recognize the LG cartriges and connot tell how much ink is available. Strngely it does allow the printer to operate.
This can be a problem as we should not allow crtridges to become completely empty befor changing.
This message applies to all 4 ink colors
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from LDProductsBy Diana A.Customer ServiceMay 5, 2011
When purchasing remanufactured cartridges it is very common to get a "low" or "empty" error message because these cartridges have already been through one cycle of service. When we receive these cartridges to remanufacture they are already low or empty and, unfortunately, we are unable to reset the electronic chip to allow accurate ink level monitoring. So, once the electronic chip on the cartridge reads an ink level status of empty or low, it will continue to do so even after it has been refilled. The printer is reading the chip on the cartridge, not the actual ink levels inside of the cartridge. If you experience any trouble with print quality then please call our Cusotmer Service Department at 888-321-2552. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Remanufactured Hewlett Packard (HP) C4906AN (HP 940XL Black) Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good value for the ink

PostedDecember 20, 2010
Customer avatar
By: Mikethatsmynickname
fromTexas
Used this product for:Less than 1 month
Product replacement:Yes
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Works just fine except it will not register the amount of ink in the cartridge as new or there after. The printer shows it is low and needs to be replaced yet was full of ink. A slight pain but workable. On my L7780 (88XL Black) everything works just perfect. On my 8500 the cartridge 940XL Black) will not read as full and yet it is.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Remanufactured Hewlett Packard (HP) C4906AN (HP 940XL Black) Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

One Small Problem

PostedNovember 5, 2010
Customer avatar
By: OldProf
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The Cartridge seems to work O.K but it does not show up on the computer "Ink left in cartridge" It shows what was left in the old HP cartridge.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Remanufactured Hewlett Packard (HP) C4906AN (HP 940XL Black) Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value at a super-good price.

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
By: 54321
fromLancaster, CA
Used this product for:Less than 1 month
Product replacement:Yes
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
There were only two small negatives:
1. It took about 8-days to get to me. It might have been the Postal Service's fault.
2. I have an HP Officejet that requires separate cartridges for the black, magenta, cyan and yellow. I ordered the black one. It seems that on a refurbished cartridge, the chip that displays the ink-level is 'wiped-out'. I did not know this. I sent a letter to the company and they explained this. I have ordered the color cartirdges to have on hand because of the value. Because this aberration is not on their website, I was alarmed at first, thinking the cartridge was not filled-up.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Remanufactured Hewlett Packard (HP) C4906AN (HP 940XL Black) Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Customer avatar
By: picsrr
fromSummit, New Jersey
Used this product for:3 to 6 months
Product replacement:Yes
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I find that the product produces clean, clear copies and you can't beat the price compared to any retail office supply store. The only glitch is that the printer always shows that I need a replacement by showing low ink. It's hard to tell when I actually need to replace until I am completely out of ink.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Remanufactured Hewlett Packard (HP) C4906AN (HP 940XL Black) Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Customer avatar
By: PtCLives
fromTurlock, Ca
Used this product for:More than 1 year
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Only real complaint is my printer always shows empty ink which causes problems in planing my printing tasks.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Remanufactured Hewlett Packard (HP) C4906AN (HP 940XL Black) Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

PostedJune 28, 2012
Customer avatar
By: Anonymous
fromMO
Used this product for:Less than 1 month
Product replacement:Yes
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product. Don't like that you have to dismiss the levels on the HP Printer. Haven't had to do that before but works great and is a terrific value.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Remanufactured Hewlett Packard (HP) C4906AN (HP 940XL Black) Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great value for product

PostedMay 19, 2012
Customer avatar
By: Glendora56
fromCrestline, CA
Used this product for:More than 1 year
Product replacement:Yes
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been using LD Products for a couple years now and the quality has gotten more consistent. The value has always been there which is much needed in this economy.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Remanufactured Hewlett Packard (HP) C4906AN (HP 940XL Black) Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It doesn't have the ink level still great buy.

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Customer avatar
By: Al27
fromBoca Raton Florida
Used this product for:Less than 1 month
Product replacement:Yes
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall, I rated it a low "A" which is good. Not much experience with this cartridge yet, but it looks that it will perform, as usual.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Remanufactured Hewlett Packard (HP) C4906AN (HP 940XL Black) Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Customer avatar
By: sfeller
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I cannot seem to get it work properly in my printer. I have to turn the printer off, then back on before it will print. It's like it doesn't see it! HELP!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Remanufactured Hewlett Packard (HP) C4906AN (HP 940XL Black) Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

OfficeJet 8500 Inkjet Cartridges - Reman HP940XL

PostedFebruary 23, 2011
Customer avatar
By: JayB
fromOrlando, FL
Used this product for:3 to 6 months
Product replacement:Yes
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have used these inkjet cartridges now for several months, and they are working just fine. In the beginning I had a problem with one of the cartridges not delivering ink, but after following the service procedures I received from LD, the problem was resolved.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Remanufactured Hewlett Packard (HP) C4906AN (HP 940XL Black) Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

940XL ink cartridge

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Customer avatar
By: lightoptic
fromABQ, NM
Used this product for:Less than 1 month
Product replacement:Yes
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Just tried first cartridge from LD & my HP OfficeJet Pro 8500A Premium printer shows the cartridge as used or damaged - but prints fine - but no info on print ink level on the cartridge. Maybe it has to do with HP trying to get you to buy OEM - not sure. Will see how long the cartridge lasts.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Remanufactured Hewlett Packard (HP) C4906AN (HP 940XL Black) Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP 940 ink

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Customer avatar
By: STATS
fromSan Diego
Used this product for:More than 1 year
Product replacement:Yes
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been using LD for years, fast service.
You must have software loaded for HP to dismiss the ink error
if the date is old, works every time.
If you see a blinking light check ink level, replace if needed
open software, if it needs checking you will see a dismiss on the bottom of screen hit twice. Some times you have to restart computer
for the software to see the printer and check levels.
I have 5 HP machines works all the time.
STATS
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Remanufactured Hewlett Packard (HP) C4906AN (HP 940XL Black) Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Customer avatar
By: PrincessPrintsalot
fromBoerne, TX
Used this product for:More than 1 year
Product replacement:Yes
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have ordered these cartridges from LD Products for 2 1/2 years now, and have mostly had a great experience with them. I print around 2,000 sheets per week on my two printers. Every now and then, my HP printers tell me I need to replace the ink cartridge due to low ink -- and the cartridge is still nearly half full. It forces me to replace the ink cartridge to continue printing; no amount of shaking or tapping will make the printer resume printing.
Nonetheless, I keep ordering these ink cartridges because they are such a great value!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Remanufactured Hewlett Packard (HP) C4906AN (HP 940XL Black) Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedMay 14, 2012
Customer avatar
By: kcjones
fromIowa
Used this product for:More than 1 year
Product replacement:No
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We have ordered all of our ink cartridges from LD Products for several years.
We have been pleased with the quality and service and will continue to do business with this company!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Remanufactured Hewlett Packard (HP) C4906AN (HP 940XL Black) Ink Cartridge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value and speedy delivery!

PostedMay 4, 2012
Customer avatar
By: Pags64
fromLong Island, NY
Used this product for:3 to 6 months
Product replacement:Yes
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was looking for a cost effective remanufactured printer cartridge for my HP printer and found LD. The price was great and I got the product in a few days. Ordering is easy and they remember my last order. HP does not recognize remanufactured cartridges so I order then right after they are empty to make sure I always have them available.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>